8.22.08 Best NBA Nicknames, Part I

 

Welcome, to the first blog here at The Quick Report. What you’re looking at is an NBA focused set of ramblings by your’s truly. A few times a week you’ll see me throw out some comments on the world of the NBA. Well, expect maybe for this week. For the first installment of The Quick Report I decided I would start what will become a three part series. As you can read in the title, I’m checking out the best NBA nicknames of all time.

“The Big O” – Oscar Robertson

One could argue that Oscar Robertson is the best stat man in the history of the NBA. We all know that he averaged a triple double for an entire season. No one has even remotely come close to that in today’s NBA. What makes me select “The Big O” is just the cool, old school nature of the name. It’s so understated. Now days everyone tries to get creative with their nicknames. The Big O is simple and it’s legendary.

“The Answer” – Allen Iverson

I’ve always been saddened that “The Practice” never became Allen Iverson’s nickname, but “The Answer” works too. For a player that is arguably the best scorer since the days of pre-goatee MJ, “The Answer is the perfect nickname. You score, AI’s got the answer. Your team makes a rally in the fourth quarter, Iverson’s got the answer. It’s plain and to the point. Kind of like Iverson…

“Sir Charles” – Charles Barkley

Generally, when a person has the title of “Sir” in front of their name, it means elegance and integrity. Now, I’m not a Charles Barkley hater by any means. I actually think when he’s talking about basketball he’s often spot on the money. The thing is that Charles Barkley isn’t at all elegant nor does he have a lot of integrity. If he did, he would’ve knocked Kenny Smith out a long time ago. Well, I’m one to appreciate irony, so “Sir Charles” can’t be left off.

“King James” – LeBron James

I know a lot of people have a problem with this and I can understand that. LeBron James isn’t really the king of anything outside of Cleveland, but I like to think about the future. Despite it sounding good, “King James” will be such a great title for people like me when it comes time for LeBron James to win his championship. His championship that might be closer than some think.

“Starbury” – Stephon Marbury

Every other player on this list is a hall of fame talent. There’s no denying that. Stephon Marbury could’ve been one of those guys. Today, I doubt even he would contend he deserves to go into the hall. Still, this is about selecting cool nicknames, right? Starbury is just too marketable not to make the list. This guy could’ve had rappers singing about him and his nickname for years. Well, they still might, but just not in a positive way.

“Dr. J” – Julius Erving

I’ve kind of been feeling bad for Dr. J lately. Sure, he got his Dr. Pepper commercial, but did they have to use the Bulls theme as the music? I mean, Michael is the NBA guy for all time, but can’t the guy at least get some rip off music? The reason I pick the name is simple. It goes along with “Magic” Johnson in that the nickname became the guy’s name. You know the average person is more likely to know that Dr. J was a basketball player than Julius Erving.

Expect Part II of the series very soon!

Until then you can read my other writings at: http://www.sportsviews.com/profile/Kurosawa

Published in: on August 22, 2008 at 5:35 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,